Museum van Loon

Museum Van Loon is the home of the Amsterdam merchant family Van Loon. In 1602 Willem van Loon was co-founder of the Dutch East India Company. Several members of the family were in city council. In the early nineteenth century, the family was raised in nobility and in the twentieth century they played an important role on the Amsterdam stock exchange. 
The first occupant of the building was the painter Ferdinand Bol, who was a famous pupil of Rembrandt. In 1884 the house was bought as a wedding gift for Esquire Hendrik Willem van Loon and his wife Thora Egidius. The house was opened to the public in 1973 by professor Maurits van Loon, the last male descendant of the family.

Visitors can not only visit the richly decorated rooms on the first floor, as well as the bedrooms, the kitchen and the large, formal garden, which is bordered by the impressive façade of the coach house. Museum Van Loon, Keizersgracht 672, Amsterdam

Payoff House of Lords
Copyright House of Lords | Algemene voorwaarden | 070 2055355 | sales@houseoflords.nl